Free Articles For Reprint

Titles Titles & descriptions


Sanford and Son (Season 3) DVD Review

Navigation: Main page » Music and Movies

 Print this page 

Author: Britt Gillette

Nominated for six Golden Globes and seven Emmys, including Outstanding Series - Comedy, Sanford & Son became one of the first shows in television history to be almost entirely centered around African-American characters. Modeled after the British TV show Steptoe & Son, the series showcased the underappreciated talents of comic genius Redd Foxx (whose skin color and bad language prevented him from becoming a superstar decades earlier). The brainchild of All In The Family creator Norman Lear, Sanford & Son signaled the beginning of a decade of sitcom classics for the prolific 1970's TV writer - Maude (1972), Good Times (1974), and The Jeffersons (1975) being the others. Wrought with memorable one-liners and well-timed humor, Sanford & Son was a Top 10 Nielsen rated show every year in which it aired except for its final season (ranking a respectable #27)…

Sanford & Son, set in the Watts district of Los Angeles, follows the life of Fred Sanford (Redd Foxx), a 65-year-old African-American junk dealer who shares his business with his 34-year-old son Lamont (Demond Wilson). With Fred's wife Elizabeth having passed away twenty years earlier, he often evokes Lamont's sympathy by clutching his heart and proclaiming, "Oh, I'm coming to join you Elizabeth!" But Fred always survives those near fatal heart attacks, continuing to disperse sarcastic putdowns (often directed at his sister-in-law Esther) and racist stereotypical remarks aimed against whites and Hispanics (especially Lamont's friend Julio). Using guilt to manipulate his ambitious son into staying and helping run the salvage shop instead of pursuing other endeavors, Fred Sanford spends most of his days lounging around the house (his junk store and home are one and the same) and hanging out with his friends - Grady, Melvin, and Bubba… Well-written and hilarious, Sanford & Son is comedian Redd Foxx at his absolute best…

The Sanford & Son (Season 3) DVD features a number of hilarious episodes including the season premiere "Lamont as Othello" in which Fred walks in on Lamont and his drama teacher acting out a choking scene from Shakespeare's Othello. Fred wrongly believes that Lamont is trying to kill a white woman, but the tables are turned when Fred and Lamont visit the teacher's house and her parents wrongly assume the Sanfords are trying to rob the place… Other notable episodes from Season 3 include "Lamont is That You?" in which Lamont and Rollo accidentally walk into a gay bar (but not until they're seen by Fred's friend Bubba, leading Fred to believe Lamont is gay), and "Fred's Cheating Heart" in which one of Fred's typical fake heart attacks lands him the hospital for observation…

Below is a list of episodes included on the Sanford & Son (Season 3) DVD:

Episode 39 (Lamont as Othello) Air Date: 09-14-1973
Episode 40 (Libra Rising All Over Lamont) Air Date: 09-21-1973
Episode 41 (Fred, the Reluctant Fingerman) Air Date: 09-28-1973
Episode 42 (Presenting the Three Degrees) Air Date: 10-05-1973
Episode 43 (This Little TV Went to Market) Air Date: 10-12-1973
Episode 44 (Lamont is That You?) Air Date: 10-19-1973
Episode 45 (Fuentes, Fuentes, Sanford & Chico) Air Date: 10-26-1973
Episode 46 (Superflyer) Air Date: 11-02-1973
Episode 47 (The Members of the Wedding) Air Date: 11-09-1973
Episode 48 (The Blind Mellow Jelly Collection) Air Date: 11-16-1973
Episode 49 (A House is Not a Poolroom) Air Date: 11-23-1973
Episode 50 (Grady, the Star Boarder) Air Date: 11-30-1973
Episode 51 (Wine, Women and Aunt Esther) Air Date: 12-14-1973
Episode 52 (Mama's Baby, Papa's Maybe) Air Date: 01-04-1974
Episode 53 (Fred Sanford, Legal Eagle) Air Date: 01-11-1974
Episode 54 (This Land is Whose Land?) Air Date: 01-18-1974
Episode 55 (Fred's Cheating Heart) Air Date: 02-01-1974
Episode 56 (The Party Crasher) Air Date: 02-08-1974
Episode 57 (Lamont Goes Karate) Air Date: 02-15-1974
Episode 58 (Will the Real Fred Sanford Please Do Something?) Air Date: 02-22-1974
Episode 59 (Tyranny, Thy Name is Grady) Air Date: 03-01-1974
Episode 60 (Aunt Esther and Uncle Woodrow Pffttt…) Air Date: 03-08-1974
Episode 61 (The Way to Lamont's Heart) Air Date: 03-15-1974
Episode 62 (Hello, Cousin Emma… Goodbye, Cousin Emma) Air Date: 03-29-1974

About the author: Britt Gillette is author of The DVD Report, a blog where you can find where you can find more reviews of movies and TV series. Source:

Powered by CommonSense CMS script -

Featured articles:

Contact Us